Saturday, August 9, 2008

Heroes of our times

The 16th death anniversary of the late Lieutenant General Denzil Kobbekaduwa, the legendary War Hero of our times and eight other military leaders including Major General Wijaya Wimalaratne and Rear Admiral Mohan Jayamaha falls today (August 8).

Lieutenant Colonel H.R Stephen, Lieutenant Colonel G.H. Ariyarathne, Lieutenant Colonel Y.N. Palipana, Lieutenant Commander Asanga Lankathilaka, Major Nalin de Alwis, Lieutenant Commander C.B. Wijepura and Private W.J. Wickremasinghe were the other war heroes who perished in an LTTE terrorist blast at Araly point, Jaffna.

Kobbekaduwa the veteran soldier was fondly loved by his officers and soldiers alike. He was also equally loved by a majority of Sri Lankans of Buddhist, Hindu, Catholic and Islam denominations.

His untimely demise shocked the Nation as people plunged into shock and grief when the radio broke the news on that fateful day. A sea of mourners and patriots attended his final funeral rites.

Kobbekaduwa was deeply loved by his subordinates for his inspirational leadership and humanity. The massive crowds at his funeral proved the love and respect that people had towards him. His demise drove the entire country into mourning.

Read more,
Video Source,

No comments: