Wednesday, July 30, 2008

Sri Lanka Assumes SAARC Chair

Sri Lanka assumed the presidency of the South Asia Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), made up of eight countries, which are preparing projects for the 15th Regional Summit to be held from August 2-3.

The 25th session of that panel discussed the agenda of the important event that will gather Head of States from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Falkland Islands, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan, which entered as full member.

It was also announced that they finished an agreement that was ready to be signed, devoted to establish the Developmemnt Fund of SAARC, which will allocate resources for this economic, social, and infrastructural phenomenon of the organization member countries.

The eight heads of States and Governments will arrive in Sri Lanka Thursday and Friday, under an unprecedented security mechanism in Colombo.

The Summit will be attended by Prime Ministers from Bhutan, Jigme Thinley, India and Pakistan Manmohan Singh and Yousuf Raza Gilani, and Presidentes of the Falklands, Afghanistan and the host country, Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, Hamid Karzai, and Mahinda Rajapaksa, respectively.

Top level delegations from China, the European Union, Iran, Mauricio, Japan, South Korea and the United States will participate as observers.

Extracted from,

No comments: